Siim Lepisk – thoughts on digital

I develop talents to increase shareholder value

Optimize for local “Googles” too

I googled my name from Neti.ee and found some terrible results. Found pages that  I didn’t even know that would exist.
Siim on Neti.ee search

I felt embarrassed of the results. I thought I had optimized my personal brand on the internet, as Google displays the results just the way I want them. Although I never use the Neti.ee search, according to TNS Metrix Neti.ee is the most popular internet portal in Estonia.

Everyone probably knows that already, but it’s often overseen: Google is not the only search engine and even if you’re well SEO’d for Google, Bing and Yahoo, local engines might display some really odd results that need optimizing too.

In this search, some of the first results are really random pages that would never appear in Google with those keywords – their PageRank ought to be 1 .. 2 of 10. But despite of their low popularity, one needs to optimize/edit their content as well. And boost up

PS: Did I really start this post with “googled”, not”searched”?

Filed under: estonia, google, marketing, search, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to my feeds

Subscribe to Siim on RSS   View Siim updates on Twitter   Subscribe Siim's feed on e-mail   View Siim Lepisk's profile on LinkedIn   Subscribe Siim's Marketing bookmarks on Delicious

Twitter

3 latest bookmarks on marketing

